RTD History

  • In 2003, Governor Richardson signed into law the Regional Transit District Act. This legislation authorized the creation of RTD's in New Mexico.
  • In 2004, Governor Richardson signed legislation that allowed City and County Governments that were members of an RTD to go to the voters for approval to implement a Gross Receipts Tax (GRT) of up to 1/2 of one percent transportation services.
  • In 2008, the South Central Regional Transit District was certified by NMDOT


1 County              Doña Ana

8 Municipalities     Las Cruces, Hatch, Mesilla, Sunland Park, Elephant Butte, T or C, Williamsburg and Anthony

Why the Regional Transit District

  • It creates Regional Multi-Government Partnerships
  • Allows state and local governments to form a true Regional Transit Connection with existing local transit systems
  • Allows for expanded transit services to UN-SERVED areas
  • Reduces traffic congestion and air pollution around Southern NM communities

Types of Agreements the RTD Operates Under

  • Partner Resolutions
  • Cooperative Agreements
  • Memorandum of Agreement
  • Memorandum of Understanding
  • Service Plans
  • Fiscal Agent Agreement
  • Joint Funding Grant Applications
  • Policies and Procedures
  • All other governmental requirements for a new entity

Role of the RTD

Responsible for the coordination of transit systems in the member area.
  1. Develop a single, seamless transit system for member area residents from existing fragmented systems
  2. Coordinate transit with other existing modes within and adjacent to member area residents Connect services with

  • Roadrunner Transit
  • Z-Trans
  • Ben Archer
  • Park and Ride
  • Responsible for operating contracts

  • Manage operating contracts and pilot projects, North and South Valley, Organ, Chaparral

  • Responsible for consolidating existing transit services in the following communities: Mesilla, San Pablo, San Miguel, La Mesa, Chamberino, Anthony, La Union Santa Teresa, Sunland Park, Brazito, Mesquite, Vado, Anthony, Chaparral, Garfield, Hatch, Rody, Rincon, Radium Springs, Doña Ana Elephant Butte, Truth or Consequences, Williamsburg.