

RTD History

- In 2003, Governor Richardson signed into law the Regional Transit District Act. This legislation authorized the creation of RTD's in New Mexico.
- In 2004, Governor Richardson signed legislation that allowed City and County Governments that were members of an RTD to go to the voters for approval to implement a Gross Receipts Tax (GRT) of up ½ of one percent to transportation services.
- In 2008 the South Central Regional Transit District was certified by NMDOT.
- In 2014 the District initiated a pilot transit operation with four bus routes with financial support from members, community groups and Dona Ana County. Additionally, a transit tax initiative was attempted but failed which limited the funding needed to support the transit system.
- In 2015 the District initiated a two year commuter rail study and completed a Five Year Financial and Service Plan.
- In 2016 the District with a two year funding agreement with Dona Ana County initiated transit service on four bus routes from Las Cruces to Sunland Park, Anthony and Chaparral. Later that year, the District secured a 5311 grant to support the operation of bus service in Dona Ana County and a 5310 grant to enhance the Purple route operating from Anthony to Sunland Park with connections to El Paso's Westside Transit Center.
- In 2017 the District extended service to connect to El Paso County from Chaparral and Sunland Park. With additional funds, service frequency was improved. These actions improved ridership throughout the service area on all bus routes.
- In 2018 transit service frequency increased on three of the four routes and ridership grew by 61 percent. Further, the District updated its Five Year Financial and Service Plan to reflect new services and grant funding programmed or received.

SCRTD 1

 In 2019 transit service ridership continued to grow at close to 50 percent over the previous year. Further, the District launched its fifth bus route, the Green Route from Hatch to Las Cruces. The District will initiate a new ten year Service Plan in August 2019.

Members

1 Counties Dona Ana

7 Municipalities Las Cruces, Hatch, Mesilla, Sunland Park, Elephant Butte,

Williamsburg, and Alamogordo

Why the Regional Transit District?

- It creates Regional Multi-Government Partnerships
- Allows state, and local governments to form a true Regional Transit Connection with existing local transit systems
- Allows for expanded transit services to UN-SERVED areas
- Reduces traffic congestion and air pollution around Southern NM communities

Types of Agreements the RTD operates under

- Partner Resolutions
- Cooperative Agreements
- Memorandum of Agreement
- Memorandum of Understanding
- Service Plans
- Fiscal Agent Agreement
- Joint Funding Grant Applications
- Policies and Procedures
- All other governmental requirements for a new entity

SCRTD 2

Role of the RTD

- 1. Responsible for the coordination of transit systems in the member area.
- 2. Develop a single, seamless transit system for member area residents from existing fragmented systems.
- 3. Coordinate transit with other existing modes within and adjacent to

member area residents. Connect services with

- Roadrunner Transit,
- Z-Trans
- Ben Archer
- New Mexico Park and Ride Service (Silver and Gold)
- El Paso Sun Metro; including Route 83-Sunland Park
- El Paso County
- 4. Responsible for operating contracts
- 5. Manage operating contracts and/pilot projects, North and South Valley, Organ, Chaparral
- 6. Responsible for consolidating existing transit services in the following communities:

Mesilla, San Pablo, San Miguel, La Mesa, Chamberino, Anthony, La Union, Santa Teresa, Sunland Park, Brazito, Mesquite, Vado, Anthony, Chaparral, Garfield, Hatch, Rody, Rincon, Radium Springs, Dona Ana, Elephant Butte, Truth or Consequences, Williamsburg.

SCRTD 3